Research Ethics Board

Research Ethics Board
WWW-hybrid
The Research Ethics Board (REB) exists to ensure that all research involving human participants conducted within the jurisdiction of University Health Network (UHN) meets the required standards of ethical and research conduct. To learn more, please click on the buttons below.
Overview of the Review Process
Consultations are always available upon request for any type of study.

Review Steps:
1. PI to gather all relevant information, organize required documents for approval.
2. Submit the study through CAPCR. REB Approval is only one element of Institutional Approval (required to begin a study at UHN).
3.REB receives the study.
4. REB triages the incoming study based on several factors including risk.
5. Review assessment is conducted.
6. A decision to approve the study is made; modifications are requested; more information is required.
  • The following graphic displays the timeline of the REB submission and review process:
    Step 1 Step 2 Step 3 Step 4 Step 5 Step 6

    PI to gather all relevant information, organize required documents for approval.

    Submit the study through CAPCR.
    REB Approval is only one element of Institutional Approval (required to begin a study at UHN).

    REB receives the study.

    REB triage the incoming study based on several factors including risk.

    Review assessment is conducted.

    A decision to approve the study is made.

    Modifications are requested.

    More information is required.

  • Initial Submissions

    When submitting a study, the REB determines one of the following review paths, depending on the nature and risk profile of the submission. This application is only completed once per study.

    • Full Board Review: greater than minimal risk
    • Delegated Review: the study presents minimal risk to study participants
       
Initial Submission via CAPCR
CAPCR is an online tool that manages the electronic submission process for clinical research studies by streamlining the approval process. CAPCR compiles and coordinates approvals from different departments (including REB) and allows you to track your progress towards achieving Institutional Approval. To learn more about the CAPCR application, click here.

UHN's CAPCR can be accessed internally from the research network, or externally through the Remote login page.

*For issues accessing the CAPCR application, please contact the CAPCR team directly.
How to Renew or Close a Study
See the diagram below to decide whether your study needs to be Renewed or Closed.
    Question 1
Is the research study open to accrual/enrolment?
 
Renew via CAPCR Question 2
Is the research study closed to enrolment but subjects are still participating in research procedures outlined in the protocol?
                        Close via CAPCR






Question 3
Is data clarification, analysis and/or data transfer ongoing?
Please ensure that your Study Renewal is completed and submitted via CAPCR between 30 and 14 calendar days prior to your study's REB Expiry.

For Study Closures, please ensure that the form is completed and submitted via ​CAPCR as soon as possible after your study is complete and no later than 14 calendar days prior to REB Expiry.
How to Report Unanticipated Events
UHN REB's process for reporting unanticipated events (including adverse events and protocol deviations) follows the guidelines laid out by the 'Canadian Association of Research Ethics Boards’ (CAREB). To see the CAREB guidelines, click here.
  • Events that Should be Reported
    Any event that meets the following criteria:
    1. Protocol Deviation
    2. Adverse Event
    3. Other Unanticipated Event
    Unanticipated Event: Any incident, experience, or outcome that meets all of the following criteria:
    • The incident is unexpected (in terms of nature, severity, or frequency) when considering the research procedures that are described in the protocols (eg, informed consent document[s], investigator brochure, product monograph, device manual, etc., or the characteristics of the research participant population being studied)
    • The incident or research approach places research participants or others at a greater risk of harm (including physical, psychological, economic, or social harm) than was previously known or recognized
    • The incident, experience, or outcome may have been caused by the investigational product(s) or procedures involved in the research
For more more information on unanticipated event reporting at UHN, please consult the following PDF document (requires Adobe Acrobat Reader): Unanticipated Problem Reporting Guidance.

To report an unanticipated event at UHN, please do so via CAPCR.
FAQ
  • Do I need REB review for my study?
    All research involving humans or confidential patient information within UHN requires approval of the UHN REB prior to the initiation of a research project.

    Investigators from other institutions who wish to carry out research on UHN premises or with UHN patients or patient data must also apply to the UHN REB.

  • What counts as research?
    The definition of research is outlined in the Tri-Council Policy Statement. In summary, research involving humans is considered to include any of the following:
    • if the researcher will administer a drug, take a blood sample, do a test or perform any procedure, clinical, therapeutic, or otherwise, upon the person of himself/herself or someone else, for research rather than treatment
    • if the researcher will ask people information whether by telephone, letter, survey, questionnaire or interview
    • if the researcher will review information from patient charts (even their own patients' charts) for research rather than clinical purposes
    • if the researcher will use material derived from people (tissue samples, blood, DNA)
    • if the researcher will be using non-public records (e.g. not the telephone book) which contain identifying information about anyone either directly or indirectly
    • if the researcher will use information previously gathered about anyone, even if anonymized (secondary data analysis)
    • if the researcherwill be observing anyone's responses or behaviour, either directly or indirectly
    If you cannot determine whether an intended investigation constitutes research, contact the Chair of the REB or an Ethics Coordinator for assistance.
  • What does not count as research?
    • Research involving only the use of published or publicly available information or materials
    • Assessment activities such as quality assessment studies, performance reviews, or testing within normal educational requirements do not generally require REB review and approval
    If you cannot determine whether an intended investigation constitutes research, contact the Chair of the REB or an Ethics Coordinator for assistance.
  • How does the REB review protocols?
    In accordance with the Tri-Council Policy Statement, the UHN REB conducts a proportionate review of research protocols: that is, the scale of the review is in accordance with the type of research proposed and with the potential for harm that the research may pose
  • What research qualifies for delegated review?
    The decision to delegate a research project is made by the Co-Chairs of the REB. Some criteria by which research may qualify for delegated review are:
    • Protocols involving minimal risk or protocols where there are minimal incremental risks over standard procedures
    • Minimal risk protocols where data are collected non-invasively such as questionnaires or direct/indirect observation
    • Protocols primarily using previously-collected data such as chart reviews and database information
    • Protocols using previously-collected tissue or other samples
  • Who reviews my proposal?
    The REB is comprised of four panels. The panel to which proposals are directed for review depends on:
    • The subject of the research proposed
    • The scientific expertise of  the panel
    • In the case of the two multidisciplinary panels (A and B), the current workload of each panel is considered
  • Who decides who reviews my proposal?
    Decisions as to which panel reviews each proposal are made by the Co-Chairs of the REB in consultation with REB Coordinators. 
  • Why does the REB review the study budget?
    The REB examines the budgets of clinical trials in accordance with Tri-Council Policy Statement (TCP) Article 7.3 which states that "REBs shall examine the budgets of clinical trials to assure that ethical duties concerning conflict of interest are respected" and does so from the perspective of :
    • Feasibility
    • Coercion
    • Conflict of Interest
  • How do I find out the status of my protocol application?
    Inquiries about whether the REB has received your submission, status updates and administrative inquiries should be directed to reb@uhnresearch.ca or to the REB mainline at 416 581-7849. 
  • Where is the UHN REB located?
    Mailing Address:
    700 Bay Street
    LuCliff Place, 17th Floor, Suite 1700-1
    Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z6
  • Where can I get information about the Research Ethics Board fee?
    The REB fee is levied and collected by Research Solutions and Services through Grant and Contract Services and is used to partially offset the costs incurred by Research Solutions and Services in providing support to the REB. For more information, please see the Grant and Contract Services FAQ.
  • How should I submit my REB submissions?
    New study applications must be submitted via CAPCR.

    Currently, all other submissions (e.g. renewals, amendments, unanticipated event forms etc.) must be submitted directly to the REB at rebsubmissions@uhnresearch.ca for review.
  • When should I submit a pregnancy follow up consent form to the REB?
    A consent form for pregnancy follow up must be submitted in the event of pregnancy.

    Considering it is rare that research participants (or their partners) become pregnant while participating in a clinical research study, to facilitate review and approval process, the REB does not recommend submitting a consent form for pregnancy follow with the initial submission, unless required by the study objectives.
  • How do I make the required changes to documents that have been reviewed by the REB?
    When revising documents that have been reviewed by the REB, the requested revisions should be tracked and made on a clean copy the REB reviewed document. Please ensure that the version dates of the document are updated. Once all the revisions have been completed, send both a ‘tracked’ copy and a ‘clean’ copy of the document back to the REB. Please note that the REB will not accept documents that include both new revisions and the revisions that were previously reviewed by the REB.
  • Can a participant be given new information which may influence their current consent prior to REB approval?
    Consent is an ongoing process and participants should be provided with any and all new information that may influence their consent.
     
    New information may be provided, verbally or otherwise, to participants prior to receiving REB approval if the Principal Investigator:
    • determines it to be in the best interests of already consented participants (i.e. to eliminate or reduce any apparent immediate hazards to study participants)
    • documents the process
    • submits all new information and documentation to the REB for confirmation of agreement as soon as possible within seven days.
  • Why is there often more than one set of questions during a review?
    It is the nature of research that answers often lead to more questions and the REB review element of research is no different.
     
    An REB review is an iterative process between the PI and the REB which continues until such time as all elements have been satisfactorily addressed.
     
    In the course of review, information provided by the study team may result in requests from the REB:
    a) to modify elements of the study
    b) for more information
     
    At the conclusion of the review, the REB will provide one of the following decisions concerning the study:
    a) Approved
    b) Not Approved
    c) Approval Not Required
     
    Please see the link http://intranet.uhnresearch.ca/service/understanding-review-process which describes the review process.
UHN REB Meeting Dates
*Please note that deadlines are only provided for initial submissions. Should any Amendments or Renewals need to be considered for review during a Full Board meeting, they must be submitted 2 weeks prior to the appropriate Board’s deadline date. 
 
Panel Meeting Date Initial Application Deadline
(12pm)
Amendment / Renewal / Closure Requiring Full Board Review
Deadline (12pm)

Biomedical A

Monday, January 09, 2017

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Wednesday, December 07, 2016

Biomedical B

Monday, January 23, 2017

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Friday, January 06, 2017

Friday, December 23, 2016

Oncology

Friday, January 27, 2017

Monday, January 13, 2017

Monday, December 30, 2016​

Biomedical A

Monday, February 13, 2017

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Friday, February 03, 2017

Friday, January 20, 2017

Oncology

Friday, February 24, 2017

Friday, February 10, 2017

Friday, January 27, 2017

Biomedical B

Monday, February 27, 2017

Wednesday, February 08, 2017

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Biomedical A

Monday, March 13, 2017

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Wednesday, February 08, 2017

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Friday, March 03, 2017

Friday, February 17, 2017

Oncology

Friday, March 24, 2017

Friday, March 10, 2017


Friday, February 24, 2017

Biomedical B

Monday, March 27, 2017

Wednesday, March 08, 2017

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Biomedical A

Monday, April 10, 2017

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Wednesday, March 08, 2017

Biomedical B

Monday, April 24, 2017

Wednesday, April 05, 2017

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Friday, April 07, 2017

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oncology

Friday, April 28, 2017

Thursday, April 13, 2017

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Biomedical A

Monday, May 08, 2017

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Wednesday, April 05, 2017

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 

Friday, May 05, 2017

Friday, April 21, 2017

Oncology

Friday, May 26, 2017

Friday, May 12, 2017

Friday, April 28, 2017

Biomedical B

Monday, May 29, 2017

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Biomedical A

Monday, June 12, 2017

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Oncology

Friday, June 23, 2017

Friday, June 9, 2017

Friday, May 26, 2017

Biomedical B

Monday, June 26, 2017

Wednesday, June 07, 2017

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Friday, June 02, 2017

Friday, May 19, 2017

Biomedical B

Monday, July 17, 2017

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Friday, July 07, 2017

Friday, June 23, 2017
Oncology Friday, July 28, 2017 Friday, July 14, 2017 Friday, June 30, 2017

Biomedical A

Monday, August 07, 2017

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Wednesday, July 05, 2017
Oncology TBA TBA TBA

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Friday, August 04, 2017

Friday, July 21, 2017

Biomedical B

Monday, August  28, 2017

Wednesday, August 09, 2017

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Biomedical A

Monday, September 11, 2017

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Wednesday, August 09, 2017

Biomedical B

Monday, September 25, 2017

Wednesday, September 06, 2017

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Friday, September 08, 2017

Friday, August 25, 2017
Oncology Friday, September 29, 2017 Friday, September 15, 2017 Friday, September 1, 2017

Biomedical A

Monday, October 16, 2017

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Friday, October 06, 2017

Friday, September 22, 2017
Oncology Friday, October 27, 2017 Friday, October 17, 2017 Friday, September 29, 2017

Biomedical B

Monday, October 30, 2017

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Biomedical A

Monday, November 13, 2017

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Friday, November 03, 2017

Friday, October 20, 2017
Oncology Friday, November 24, 2017  Friday, November 10, 2017 Friday, October 27, 2017

Biomedical B

Monday, November  27, 2017

Wednesday, November 08, 2017

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Biomedical A

Monday, December 11, 2017

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Wednesday, November 08, 2017
Oncology Friday, December 15, 2017 Friday, December 1, 2017 Friday, November 17, 2017

Rehabilitation

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Friday, December 01, 2017

Friday, November 17, 2017
 
Click here to view 2015 dates

Click here to view 2016 dates
Contacts
REB General Inquiries
reb@uhnresearch.ca
416-581-7849 (18-7849)
Documents and Forms
Arrange a Consultation
A Research Ethics Consultation Service is available to all research staff at UHN who seek advice regarding ethical aspects of their research. This service provides researchers face-to-face and telephone consultations with Research Ethics Board (REB) staff for the purpose of providing education and guidance about the REB review process for their research projects.

Consultations can take place prior to submission or after submission of applications to the REB. This service is offered by UHN's Research Ethics Education program and the REB.
The Research Ethics Board (REB) exists to ensure that all research involving human participants conducted within the jurisdiction of University Health Network (UHN) meets the required standards of ethical and research conduct. To learn more, please click on the buttons below.