Four UHN Researchers Honoured

Home page Description: 
Drs. Bargman, Furlan, Mak and Gladman receive international research distinctions.
Image Caption: 
Recent distinctions were bestowed on four UHN researchers (pictured, clockwise from top left): Dr. Joanne Bargman, Dr. Andrea Furlan, Dr. Dafna Gladman and Dr. Tak Mak.

Congratulations to the following four UHN researchers, who recently received prestigious national and international honours.

Dr. Joanne Bargman, staff nephrologist in the Division of Nephorology at UHN, is this year’s recipient for the Gabor Zellerman Lectureship given at the North American Chapter of the International Society of Peritoneal Dialysis meeting. The Gabor Zellerman Award was established in the memory of Dr. Gabor Zellerman by his wife, Lisa Hoffman, and recognizes lifetime contributions to the science and practice of peritoneal dialysis. Dr. Bargman is also a Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto. She received her MD cum laude from the University of Toronto and pursued nephrology training at Stanford University.

Dr. Andrea Furlan received the Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship from the Mayday Fund. Dr. Furlan is a staff physician and Senior Scientist at Toronto Rehab and an Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto. Her main area of research focuses on the appropriate use of prescription medications for pain management, which include opioids, benzodiazepines, antidepressants, anticonvulsants and cannabinoids. She is one of 12 pain experts from across North America selected for the prestigious Fellowship program, which is focused on communications and advocacy for improved pain care. Fellows will learn skills to effectively communicate and advocate for the translation of scientific research and evidence-based best practices in pain care and management. Following the workshop, the fellows will receive follow-up coaching support to pursue their advocacy goals.

Dr. Dafna Gladman was awarded the 2018 Carol Nachman Prize for outstanding innovative research activities in the field of rheumatology. This award will be presented to her in Wiesbaden, Germany, in June. Dr. Gladman is Director of the Psoriatic Arthritis Program at UHN, co-Director of the University of Toronto Lupus Clinic and Senior Scientist at the Krembil Research Institute. The Carol Nachman award is considered one of the most prestigious international awards for research in rheumatology and one of Germany’s highest medical honours.

Dr. Tak Mak is one of four scientists elected to serve on the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Nominating Committee for the 2018-2020 term. Dr. Mak is a Senior Scientist and Director of the Campbell Family Institute for Breast Cancer Research at UHN’s Princess Margaret Cancer Centre. He is a member of the Institute of Medical Science and Professor in the Departments of Medical Biophysics and Immunology at the University of Toronto. Dr. Mak will join the AACR Nominating Committee, along with other esteemed cancer researchers, at the AACR Annual Meeting 2018, to be held in Chicago, April 14-18. The AACR is the world’s first and largest professional organization dedicated to advancing cancer research and its mission to prevent and cure cancer.