ORT Travel Award Winners

Home page Description: 
Congratulations to the recipients of the July 2019 ORT Travel Award.
Posted On: October 25, 2019
Image Caption: 
Top (L-R): Sara Rapic, Helena Boutzen, Muhammad Ahsan Siraj, Scott Rich. Bottom (L-R): Stephanie Poon, Nasim Montazeri, Jinhee Kim, Terunaga Inage.

Attending and presenting at conferences are an integral part of the research trainee experience. Conferences give aspiring scientists the opportunity to network with and learn from others in their fields, hone their presentation skills, generate new ideas, and receive feedback on their research from the wider scientific community.

The ORT hosts travel award competitions for University Health Network (UHN) research trainees on a triannual basis. These awards support graduate students and postdoctoral fellows to attend and disseminate their research at national and international conferences and to share with colleagues what they have learned upon their return. The ORT is pleased to announce the awardees of the July 2019 ORT Travel Award Competition:

Graduate Students (alphabetical order)

  1. Conan Chua (Supervisor: Dr. Adam Gehring, TGHRI)
  2. Christopher Gibson (Supervisor: Dr. Ralph DaCosta, PM)
  3. Sara Mahallati (Supervisor: Dr. Taufik Valiante, Krembil)
  4. Stephanie Poon (Supervisor: Dr. Laurie Ailles, PM)
  5. Shumit Saha (Supervisor: Dr. Azadeh Yadollahi, KITE/TRI)

Postdoctoral Fellows (alphabetical order)

  1. Dr. Helena Boutzen (Supervisor: Dr. John Dick, PM)
  2. Dr. Terunaga Inage (Supervisor: Dr. Kazuhiro Yasufuku, TGHRI)
  3. Dr. Jinhee Kim (Supervisor: Dr. Antonio Strafella, Krembil)
  4. Dr. Nasim Montazeri (Supervisor: Dr. Azadeh Yadollahi, KITE/TRI)
  5. Dr. Sara Rapic (Supervisor: Dr. Ralph DaCosta, PM)
  6. Dr. Scott Rich (Supervisor: Dr. Frances Skinner, Krembil)
  7. Dr. Muhammad Ahsan Siraj (Supervisor: Dr. Mansoor Husain, TGHRI)

Congratulations to all awardees!