UHN Scientists Receive CRC Awards

Home page Description: 
Four researchers awarded prestigious Canada Research Chairs.
Image Caption: 
UHN CRC award recipients (L-R) Drs. Bradly Wouters, Mitsuhiko Ikura, Marcelo Cypel and Minna Woo.
Congratulations to four UHN scientists who received new or renewed funding from the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) program. 
These include a new Chair for Dr. Bradly Wouters (Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Hypoxia and the Tumour Micro-Environment) and renewed chairs for Dr. Marcelo Cypel  (Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Lung Transplantation), Dr. Mitsuhiko Ikura (Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Cancer Structural Biology) and Dr. Minna Woo (Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Signal Transduction in Diabetes Pathogenesis). 
These outstanding researchers are among the 26 University of Toronto (U of T) professors who received funding from the program.
“U of T is very proud of our 20 new and six renewed Canada Research Chairs – all of whom are conducting important research with the potential to profoundly change the world,” said Vivek Goel, U of T’s vice president of research and innovation. “Government funding is crucial for their work and helps U of T to attract and retain some of the top scholars in the world.”